Guillermo del Toro’s opening to Simpson’s Treehouse of Horror

I’ll let someone else do the fetishy internet thing where they name every movie and/or creature referenced in this clip — for me I was weirdly gratified to see the nod to 1977’s The Car, a movie I saw in the theater and remember to this day, though it really was no more complicated than a matte black car that drove around running people over.

And here’s the trailer for The Car:

Update: And, sure enough, here are all the references.

This entry was posted in Humor, Movie Corner. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guillermo del Toro’s opening to Simpson’s Treehouse of Horror

  1. That was so, so, so much better than I thought it would be. (And Bradbury looked like such a nice man, which is how I picture him, too.)

    Does The Car have a plot of any kind? Like, a reason for its revenge?

    • kamper says:

      I swear, the story was that the car was evil and so ran people over. That was pretty much it. Even at thirteen I was like, “Wait, is that really the plot of this thing?” Caveat: I have not revisited this particular cinematic gem since then, so I may be forgetting something.

Leave a Reply

