“. . . a fucking insult to cinematography.”

Christopher Doyle on Claudio Miranda winning winning the Oscar for Best Cinematography for Life of Pi:

“Do you want me to tell the truth? Ai yay yay yay. Okay. I’m trying to work out how to say this most politely, and no offense to – I don’t know him personally – but what a total fucking piece of shit. Let me be blunt. Ah, fuck. I don’t care, I’m sure he’s a wonderful guy and I’m sure he cares so much, but since 97 per cent of the film is not under his control, what the fuck are you talking about cinematography, sorry. I’m sorry. I have to be blunt and I don’t care, you can write it. I think it’s a fucking insult to cinematography.

Not one frame of that movie felt real to me. Forget the lifeboat, not even the scenes around the dinner table felt real. It had all the emotional heft of cotton candy. It wasn’t that it was terrible, necessarily, just utterly inconsequential. The whole endeavor felt like a test reel for new computer animation techniques.

This entry was posted in Movie Corner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

