Can One Be Both an Atheist and a Feminist?

Jen McCreight, who blogs as Blag Hag, finds that the answer is apparently not.

I was exactly what a Boy’s Club wanted. I was a young, not-hideous woman who passionately supported their cause. I made them look diverse without them having to address their minority-repelling privilege. They liked that I joked about sex and boobs not because it was empowering for me, but because they saw it as a pass to oggle and objectify. But the Boy’s Club rescinds its invitation once they realize you’re a rabble-rousing feminist. I was welcome at TAM when I was talking about a boob joke, but now I’m persona non grata for caring about sexual harassment. I used to receive numerous comments about how hot and attractive I was, but when I politely asked for people to keep the discussion professional, the comments morphed into how I was an ugly cunt. I was once considered an up-and-coming student leader, but now I’m accused of destroying the movement.

Update: See also her followup on the post and the creation of a movement she’s calling Atheism+.

This entry was posted in Scathing Social Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

