Your Five Favorite Films

Rotten Tomatoes is asking various famous-type persons to name their five favorite films. Metafilter has collected many of the entries here, which is much easier to use than the Rotten Tomatoes set-up. So without too much thought or recrimination, here is my list (remember, it’s favorite, not best):

1. Children of Men
2. The Big Lebowski
3. Lord of the Rings
4. The Incredibles
5. The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou

This entry was posted in Movie Corner. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Your Five Favorite Films

  1. Baer Tierkel says:

    1. Pulp Fiction
    2. Monty Python & The Holy Grail
    3. Duck Soup
    4. Holiday
    5. One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest

    That was fucking hard and I’m still smarting from it. There can’t be a world that has no room for Rear Window, Saving Pvt. Ryan, To Kill a Mockingbird, Maltese Falcon, Some Like It Hot, Dr. Strangelove, Pleasantville in it….

  2. Days of Heaven
    Dick Myers’ Moving Pictures
    unfair
    unfair
    can’t think of anything else
    Fuck is right, Baer!

  3. I’ll figure this out yet, kamper. I FINALLY get it that your name is all lower case. How long have you been writing this dang blog? I’m slow I tell you.

  4. pt dismal says:

    1. king kong (the original, natch)
    2. rushmore
    3. tokyo story
    4. touch of evil
    5. blade runner

    ptd

  5. Lurker111 says:

    In no particular order:

    Casablanca
    Vertigo
    Finding Nemo (for the gobs of adult humor in it, and the fact that it set pediatric dentistry back ten years)
    The Great Escape or Chicken Run — take your choice
    Die Hard (the original)

    Tomorrow my list my be different.

  6. I had a decent pat answer for this back in college, but that was nearly a decade ago, and I’ve seen an awful lot of good movies since then. So:

    Key Largo
    Ordet
    Gentlemen Prefer Blondes
    Sin City
    Sherlock, Jr.

    and many many many many many others

    • It’s 30 seconds later and I have a new list:

      Gangs of New York
      Sunrise
      Mulholland Drive
      Swing Time/Follow the Fleet/Roberta/etc (they’re all the same movie)
      The Birds

      I could do this all day with new lists so I’ll stop with two. I swear.

  7. Mat Jacobson says:

    Brazil
    The Godfather
    Duck Soup
    Wings of Desire
    Magnolia

Leave a Reply

