5 Ways Men Are Trained to Hate Women

A great post from David Wong at Cracked.

All five points are well made but I quite liked this bit:

See, that’s the difference. With men, there are some scenarios where it stops mattering how he looks. With women, it always matters. In a comedy movie, the male wacky sidekick can be the chubby Zach Galifianakis or the nearly deformed Steve Buscemi. But if the female wacky sidekick isn’t attractive, like the overweight Melissa McCarthy in Bridesmaids, then every scene needs to be about how ugly and fat and mannish she is. That has to be the core of her character.

I loved Bridesmaids but this comment is right on. It really bugged me at the time. It was especially egregious during the final sex scene between Melissa McCarthy and her boyfriend, where because she’s fat she must of course incorporate lunch meats into her sex life. Because heaven forbid that a fat woman be overtly sexual without some kind of distancing mechanism. And, yes, I understand that it’s a comedy but Kristen Wiig had two sex scenes in the movie and in neither was the humor based on her body type.

This entry was posted in Humor, Scathing Social Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 5 Ways Men Are Trained to Hate Women

  1. bucko1 says:

    I laughed. Then I cried. Then I do what I always do: I count the many men I know who are not emotionally stunted, hypocritical, selfish and/or dumber than brick mortar and wonder why it is that the usual cardboard-cutout dirtbag characters are in positions to sway opinion and create and enact public policy while these fine men I know and others like them are not. (OK, OK, except for Cory “Superman” Booker) Looks like women will be chattel again pretty soon, so I won’t include those sluts in the possibility of redeeming this social tragedy.

Leave a Reply

