The Krampus Parade

Here’s another thing I didn’t know. According to Wiki, Krampus is a mythical creature recognized in Alpine countries. According to legend, Krampus accompanies St. Nicholas during the Christmas season, warning and punishing bad children, in contrast to St. Nicholas, who gives gifts to good children. When the Krampus finds a particularly naughty child, it stuffs the child in its sack and carries the frightened thing away to its lair, presumably to devour for its Christmas dinner.

In the Alpine regions, Krampus is represented by a beast like creature, generally demonic in appearance. Traditionally young men dress up as the Krampus in Austria, southern Bavaria and South Tyrol during the first week of December, particularly on the evening of 5 December, and roam the streets frightening children with rusty chains and bells.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Krampus Parade

  1. Baer says:

    I’m pretty sure they only took the Jewish, gay, gypsy, and communist children…

  2. Fucking Germans. I had a recent conversation with someone who was wishing to go to a German Christmas Market. Be careful what you wish for. For all its charms, it gives me the creeps at a deep level. And that’s just the booths with food and goodies. I never even knew about this.
    I’m guessing that some of those costumes are WAY more intense than in the past. Certainly Halloween-like and vampire-inspired stuff is new. Still, some of them look plenty “old” and traditional. Scary as hell. Jeez-us.
    Message? Know your place, behave, don’t tell anyone if the adults have abused you. It’s so built into the German character, though I know it has changed over the last 50 years.
    Makes my skin crawl….think of the Catholic Church. Think of us handing our kids over to men dressed up as Santa, sitting on their laps. Really. What are we thinking?
    I guess the lesson is question the traditions….but don’t throw the baby out with the bath water, but if you are like me, you can do some of that, too…..

  3. Now after watching the whole thing, I guess all of them have modern masks. Do you think the horns and fur are the traditional parts? And the Hell’s Angels type chopper? And the scantily-clad women in the cage?
    Then again, by the end, I kinda liked it. I wouldn’t want one taking my hat. I’m gonna go and find my inner-Krampus fighter.

Leave a Reply

