Old, Foxy, & Out of Control

Over at Frum Forum, Richard Ramsey highlights a phenomenon he calls Fox Geezer Syndrome, the tendency of formerly apolitical individuals to begin frothing at the mouth once they begin watching too much Glenn Beck. Senior Americans seem especially prone to this malady.

Used to be I would call my mom and get updated on news from the neighborhood, her garden, the grandchildren, hometown gossip, and so forth. I’ve always been interested in politics, but never had the occasion to talk about them with her. She just doesn’t care.

Or didn’t. I don’t know when it happened, exactly, but she began peppering our conversation with red-hot remarks about President Obama. I would try to engage her, but unless I shared her particular judgment, and her outrage, she apparently thought that I was a dupe or a RINO. Finally I asked my father privately why Mom, who as far as I know never before had a political thought, was so worked up about Obama all the time.

“She’s been like that ever since she started watching Glenn Beck,” Dad said.

I firmly believe that 24 hour news, whether liberal, conservative, or middle-of-the-road, is one of the unhealthiest diets on which the mind can be fed. That steady stream of THIS HAPPENED, THIS HAPPENED, THIS HAPPENED is fundamentally corrosive to any sense of safety and well-being. Turn that shit off, people!

This entry was posted in Scathing Social Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

